Roxby Downs Area School logo

Empowering all to reach their Potential

Roxby Downs Area School is a South Australian State Government school conducted by the Department of Education and Child Development. It was established in 1987 to support the newly created Olympic Dam mine and continues to adapt to its dynamic growth.

Roxby Downs Area School is located in the heart of the Roxby Downs township and caters for Years R-12. It shares facilities with the local TAFE and during school hours we share facilities with the Leisure Centre, ovals and tennis courts

The school has excellent teaching facilities including the Desert Trade Training Centre (DESTTC), 2 Science Laboratories, Primary Computing Suite, Computer Aided Design Studio, Art Room, Drama Room, Library, Learning Hub and Open Access Facilities. A school hall is also operational and caters for community needs outside school hours.

The school population has grown from 100 in 1987 to over 620 in 2017. Years 7-12 students from Andamooka travel by bus to school.

In 2018 Roxby Downs Area School has approximately 75 members of staff, including over 50 teaching staff. Of the current school population of around 650, approximately 400 students are in primary school (R-6) and 250 are secondary (7-12).

Department for Education logo
SA Gov logo
Creative Commons logo
Branding SA logo